Learn about the new Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Designation
Learn about the new Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Designation
If you're having trouble viewing this email, you may see it online.

Carleton College
Dear Carls,

I’m writing as the chair of the Alumni Annual Fund (AAF) Board on behalf of our group of volunteers who help set the direction and strategic goals for the AAF.

After hearing from and engaging with many alumni across various class years this summer and fall, the Board has been discussing how the AAF might provide more opportunities for alumni to support inclusion, diversity, and equity work on campus. After discussion and consultation with other alumni volunteer leaders, we decided to move forward with a new Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity (IDE) designation within the AAF this year, which will be added to the AAF giving page on December 1. This is an addition to the existing options for designation within the AAF, including Areas of Greatest Need, Financial Aid, MCAN Fellows, and others, that will continue to be available. We are sharing this broadly to be transparent and open about this decision, as it wasn’t made lightly, and involved many conversations, including with members of the Multicultural Alumni Network board.

The dollars designated from alumni, parents, and friends to this area will assist the Carleton campus community through budget-relieving support for programs and positions focused on creating a more inclusive and equitable environment for all students, staff, and faculty. We created an IDE AAF designation FAQ document that explores this, as well as other topics, and will have an FAQ website available in December too.

Carleton has committed to inclusion, diversity, and equity as part of the very fabric of a Carleton education. The IDE designation is an opportunity to connect donor dollars to improving Carleton’s ability to fulfill that promise. 

We are grateful for the many alumni who have been in touch with us to share their thoughts and look forward to continued energy and discussion around making Carleton better. 

All the best,

Austin Lau '05 

AAF Board Members:  Bill Gage '64, Jim Ginzer '73, Pam Luecke '74, Rick Valdivia '80, Bob Gilbertson '88, Deirdre Weaver '89, Melissa Albay '90, Bonnie Melville '92, Jane Cobler '98, Drew Weitz '02, Jonathan Dille '08, Holly Buttrey '14, and Dan Sullivan '19
Carleton College
One North College Street
Northfield, MN 55057
Carleton College
Carleton College One North College Street | Northfield, MN 55057 United States
This email was sent to nschroeder@carleton.edu. To ensure that you continue receiving our emails, please add us to your address book or safe list.

manage your preferences | opt out using TrueRemove®.

Got this as a forward? Sign up to receive our future emails.