And, we explore a few new titles at Nederland Community Library
And, we explore a few new titles at Nederland Community Library
August 2022
Book News

New Books from the stacks at NCL

FICTION


LibraryReads, the nationwide library staff-picks list, has come out with its top August titles that public library staff across the country love. Here they are (and we’ve included one of our own).


Love on the Brain

By Ali Hazelwood

Hazelwood's done it again with another fantastic romance filled with the real-world struggles of being a woman in STEM. For fans of Helen Hoang and Christina Lauren." --Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, Colo.

Book  Check Availability

*****


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence:
An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution 

By R.F. Kuang

 "What power do words really have? Kuang explores this question in a unique standalone fantasy filled with beautiful writing and well-developed characters where a magical system drawn from translation and silverwork fuels colonialism. For readers of Katherine Addison, Zen Cho and N.K. Jemisin." --Danielle Deaver, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Bethesda, Md.

Book  Check Availability

*****


The Couple at Number 9

By Claire Douglas

Pregnant Saffy and her partner Tom are thrilled when her ailing grandmother gives them a cottage to make their home--until they find two bodies buried on the property. Featuring multiple points of view and realistic characters, the latest twisty thriller from Douglas will appeal to fans of taut page-turners like The Turn of the Key and The Guest List." --Amy Medeiros, Westport Free Public Library, Westport, Mass.

Book  Check Availability

*****


Daisy Darker

By Alice Feeney

"Darker isn't just Daisy's surname: it's the mood of this closed-room mystery as Daisy's family members die one by one at a remote island home. Deftly told, this nod to Agatha Christie mixes suspense and secrets with heartbreaking and poignant observations about family and childhood." --Jennifer Ohzourk, West Des Moines Public Library, West Des Moines, Iowa

*****


The Hookup Plan

By Farrah Rochon

"Dedicated pediatric surgeon London looks to de-stress through a no-strings-attached hookup with her former high school nemesis (and current millionaire) Drew. But Drew wants more than a one-night stand. London jumps off the page with her vibrant personality, and it's fun to see a man pursuing a woman in an enemies to lovers tale. For fans of Abby Jimenez and Talia Hibbert." --Hannah Spratt, New York Public Library, New York, N.Y.

Book  Check Availability

*****


The Last Housewife

By Ashley Winstead
"When yet another of her college roommates turns up dead, Shay investigates with the help of her BFF true crime podcaster. Will Shay find answers in her past, which includes a misogynistic sex cult, or will she be lured back in? For fans of I'll Be You or This Might Hurt." --Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, Md.

Book, CD  Check Availability

*****


Other Birds

By Sarah Addison Allen
"To keep a connection to her late mother, Zoey moves into her old apartment on Mallow Island, S.C. The complex and its residents are characters, too. This book is a quick and sweet read about the stages of love from the tickle of a spark to the longing its absence can bring." --Sara Schettler, Scottsdale Public Library, Scottsdale, Ariz.

eBook  Check Availability

*****


Shutter 

By Ramona Emerson
"Rita Todacheene, a crime scene photographer for the Albuquerque PD, can communicate with the dead. Her latest job involves a woman who allegedly killed herself... but she won't leave Rita alone. A cinematic thriller set on the edge of the Navajo Nation, Emerson's debut is a must-read." --Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, Kan.

Book  Check Availability

*****


The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

By Sangu Mandanna
"Mika is one of the few witches secretly living in Britain when someone reaches out for help teaching three young witches. She becomes entangled in the lives of her pupils and the household, including the handsome yet grouchy librarian Jaime. A cozy romance for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea." --Danielle Geiger, Brentwood Public Library, Brentwood, Tenn.

Book  Check Availability

*****


The World as We Know It

By Joseph Monninger

A lifetime of friendship begins the day brothers Ed and Allard save Sarah from drowning in an icy river near their rural New Hampshire home. Though their paths diverge through the years, they find themselves on journeys that test the enduring bonds of their relationship and time's unremitting power to heal. “A good one.” --Cathy Grace, Nederland Library Assistant and Giver of Stars

________________________________________

NON-FICTION


The Psychology of Money:
Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness

By Morgan Housel

Doing well with money isn't necessarily about what you know. It's about how you behave. And behavior is hard to teach, even to really smart people. Award-winning author Housel shares 19 short stories exploring the strange ways people think about money and teaches you how to make better sense of one of life's most important topics.

eBook, Kindle  Check Availability

*****


Who Killed Jane Stanford?:
A Gilded Age Tale of Murder, Deceit, Spirits and the Birth of a University

By Richard White

A premier historian penetrates the fog of corruption and cover-up still surrounding the murder of a Stanford University founder to establish who did it, how, and why.

eBook, Kindle  Check Availability

*****


I Used to Live Here Once:
The Haunted Life of Jean Rhys

By Miranda Seymour

An intimate, profoundly moving biography of Jean Rhys, acclaimed author of Wide Sargasso Sea.

eBook, Kindle  Check Availability 

*****


Fast Feasts:
Quick, easy recipes with a Middle-Eastern twist

By John Gregory-Smith

As we've all been cooking more for ourselves lately, it's become commonplace to run out of ideas or feel fatigued from spending too much time in the kitchen. Fast Feasts puts flavour firmly back into the kitchen with a selection of quick and easy recipes, all featuring a signature Middle Eastern twist, which will make you feel excited about cooking again.

eBook  Check Availability

*****


Eat for Energy:
How to Beat Fatigue, Supercharge Your Mitochondria, and Unlock All-Day Energy

By Ari Whitten

A deep dive into the underlying cellular cause of chronic fatigue, burnout, and brain fog, with a framework for restoring cognitive function, alertness, and an abundance of energy.

eBook, Kindle
Check Availability 

________________________________________

YOUNG READERS


Warriors: The New Prophecy

By Erin Hunter 

Moons have passed since six cats set out on a journey to save their Clans. Meanwhile, back in the forest, Firestar and Leafpaw watch ThunderClan's world crumbling around them. Will the questing cats make it back in time, or will they be too late?

Book  Check Availability 

*****


The Story of Frida Kahlo:
a biography book for new readers

By Susan B. Katz 

Introduces readers to the Mexican painter Frida Kahlo.

Book  Check Availability 

*****


Booked

By Kwame Alexander

Twelve-year-old Nick loves soccer and hates books, but soon learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams.

Book, eAudioBook, eBook, Graphic Novel, Kindle, Large Print 
Check Availability

*****


The Story of Simone Biles

By Rachelle Burk

Simone Biles has been called the greatest gymnast of all time, winning five Olympic and 25 World Champion medals by age 22. Before she wowed the world with her incredible gymnastic skills, Simone was an energetic young girl who dreamed of becoming a top gymnast. She trained for hours every day and made many sacrifices to pursue her goals.

Book  Check Availability

________________________________________

powered by emma