TDSB Chair's Newsletter
Volume 39 - January 2021
NEWS 
Karen Falconer Appointed as TDSB Interim Director of Education
On Thursday, Dec. 17, TDSB Chair Alexander Brown announced the appointment of Karen Falconer as TDSB’s Interim Director of Education. Karen steps into the role following the retirement of Dr. Kathy Witherow at the end of December 2020.

For more information, please read the news release
New Lockdown Measures
Recently, the Government of Ontario announced that all elementary schools in Southern Ontario, including those at the TDSB, will be closed to students until Monday, January 11, while all secondary schools will be closed to students until Monday, January 25. During this time, all in-person schools will be shifting to remote learning, while virtual schools will continue as normal.
For more information, including a parent/guardian letter that has been translated into multiple languages, please read the TDSB web story Reminder: New Lockdown Measures.  
TDSB Approves 10-Year Planning Strategy (2020-2029)
Trustees have approved the Board’s Long-Term Program and Accommodation Strategy. The strategy, which is aligned with the Board’s Multi-Year Strategic Plan, outlines program and student accommodation studies to be conducted over the next ten years and allows the TDSB to develop plans to balance enrolment and increase access to programs and opportunities for all students.
For more information, please read the news release
Heritage and History Months
The Toronto District School Board is proud to celebrate Tamil Heritage Month during the month of January. 
BOARD MEETING NOTES
The following items were approved or received by the Board of Trustees at the December Regular Board Meeting:
For a full list of Board decisions, please read the Summary of Decisions.
Upcoming Meetings
The next Regular Board Meeting is on Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2021. For a list of upcoming meetings, please click on the calendar on the main webpage of www.tdsb.on.ca

TDSB Trustees

Harpreet Gill
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North
Harpreet.Gill@tdsb.on.ca

Dan MacLean
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre
Dan.MacLean@tdsb.on.ca

Patrick Nunziata
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore
Patrick.Nunziata@tdsb.on.ca

Christopher Mammoliti
Ward 4 - Humber River-Black Creek
Christopher.Mammoliti@tdsb.on.ca

Alexandra Lulka

Ward 5 - York Centre
Alexandra.Lulka@tdsb.on.ca

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston
Chris.Tonks@tdsb.on.ca

Robin Pilkey
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park
Robin.Pilkey@tdsb.on.ca

Shelley Laskin
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's
Shelley.Laskin@tdsb.on.ca

Stephanie Donaldson
Ward 9 - Davenport and Spadina-Fort York
Stephanie.Donaldson@tdsb.on.ca

Chris Moise
Ward 10 - University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre
Chris.Moise@tdsb.on.ca

Rachel Chernos Lin
Ward 11 - Don Valley West
Rachel.ChernosLin@tdsb.on.ca

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale
Alexander.Brown@tdsb.on.ca

James Li
Ward 13 - Don Valley North
James.Li@tdsb.on.ca

Trixie Doyle
Ward 14 - Don Valley East
Trixie.Doyle@tdsb.on.ca

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth
Jennifer.Story@tdsb.on.ca

Michelle Aarts
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York
Michelle.Aarts@tdsb.on.ca

David Smith
Ward 17 - Scarborough Centre
David.Smith4@tdsb.on.ca

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest
Parthi.Kandavel@tdsb.on.ca

Zakir Patel
Ward 19 - Scarborough-Guildwood
Zakir.Patel@tdsb.on.ca

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt
Manna.Wong@tdsb.on.ca

Yalini Rajakulasingam
Ward 21 - Scarborough North
Yalini.Rajakulasingam@tdsb.on.ca

Anu Sriskandarajah
Ward 22 - Scarborough-Rouge Park
Anu.Sriskandarajah@tdsb.on.ca

Interim Director of Education

Karen Falconer
Karen.Falconer@tdsb.on.ca