Subscribe to our email list
TDSB Chair's Newsletter

Volume 1 - March 11, 2016


Toronto District School Board Update 
Welcome to the Toronto District School Board Update, a new communications iniative to connect with our parent leaders, the City of Toronto and provincial intergovernmental partners and stakeholders.
The update contains news and highlights from the TDSB and will be  published following monthly meetings of the Board of Trustees.
We hope you find this newsletter informative and useful.
Neethan Shan elected Trustee for Ward 21
Neethan Shan was elected TDSB Trustee for Ward 21 (Scarborough-Rouge River) in a by-election on January 25, 2016.
Trustee Shan is an experienced education advocate, having formerly served as a Trustee for the York Region District School Board. Learn more.
Director Appointed
Since arriving at the TDSB in January, Director of Education Dr. John Malloy has been following an engagement and outreach strategy to connect with TDSB staff at all levels of the organization, as well as with students, families, community members and partner organizations. These insights, ideas and goals will inform the plan for the Board's future. Learn more.
TDSB Mourns the Loss of Trustee Sheila Ward

Everyone in the TDSB community is sharing a profound sense of sadness and loss with the passing of Trustee Sheila Ward.

Sheila was a tireless advocate for her community and public education in the City of Toronto. A School Trustee for more than 20 years, Sheila represented Midtown Toronto on the former Toronto Board of Education from 1991 to 1994 and has represented Toronto Centre – Rosedale since 1997. She served as Chair of the Board between 2003 and 2007.

Donations in Sheila's memory can be made to Nelson Mandela Park Public School at (select "Nelson Mandela Park PS – In Memory of Trustee Ward” from the dropdown menu).
TDSB Appoints First-ever Integrity Commissioner
Suzanne Craig has been appointed TDSB Integrity Commissioner. The TDSB is the first school Board in Ontario to create an Integrity Commissioner position.
Serving the Board of Trustees, the Integrity Commissioner will provide advice, and conduct inquiries and complaint resolution in an independent manner.

Suzanne has an extensive background in both the public and private sectors and has previously worked as Integrity Commissioner for multiple municipalities in Ontario. Learn more.
TDSB Budget Consultations 
Community consultation is a very important part of the TDSB’s budget process. Leading up to the March meeting when the Board will vote on the balanced budget plan, Trustees will hold multiple ward forums to hear feedback from students, parents and the community. For a full list visit
Kindergarten Registration

TDSB Kindergarten registration is now open. Program details and resources are available at
TDSB Educators Recognized
Four TDSB Principals have been recognized by The Learning Partnership as being among Canada’s Outstanding Principals of 2016. The winning TDSB Principals are:
  • Sarah Frost, Cliffwood Public School
  • Alison Gaymes San Vicente, Lanor Junior Middle School
  • Arlene Knights-Svarich, Elizabeth Simcoe Junior Public School
  • Duncan LeBlanc, Maplewood High School


Trustees Approve School Based Staffing Allocation for 2016-17
The 2016-17 school based staffing allocation has been approved by Trustees. It does not include any staff reductions to classroom and school supports for Special Education or safe schools programs at the elementary or secondary school levels. Position reductions are expected to be managed through attrition. Read the full staffing allocation reports and the Board decision from the March 9, 2016 Board meeting.
Trustees to Review Governance Advisory Panel Report
The Board’s Governance Review Committee will commence a review of recommendations from the Ministry’s Governance Advisory Panel Report aimed at improving governance, accountability, transparency, community engagement and the distribution of resources to schools at the regional level. The first step will be to determine timelines and a work plan for the review. See pages 12-13 of this report.
Closure of Sir Robert L. Borden Business and Technical Institute
On February 10, 2016, following a Pupil Accommodation Review with the school community, the Board decided to close Sir Robert L. Borden Business and Technical Institute effective June 30, 2016.
Since amalgamation in 1998, the TDSB has closed 30 schools because of declining enrolment and the need for consolidations. Nineteen of those buildings have been sold, eight are leased by the Toronto Lands Corporation, and three are being used for TDSB purposes. 
Also since 1998, the TDSB has disposed of 82 properties. Sixteen of those properties were disposed of by the TDSB before the formation of the Toronto Lands Corporation. That corporation has disposed of 66 properties. Approximately 60% of the properties were purchased by public sector organizations. 
New P.A. Day Announced
All TDSB schools will have a newly designated P.A. Day on Friday, April 15, 2016. This additional P.A. Day has been mandated by the Ministry of Education as a result of provincial labour negotiations.
All TDSB schools will be closed to students on Friday, April 15, 2016. On this day, teachers will be taking part in professional development. See TDSB's 2015-16 school year calendar. 
New Workgroup to Improve Access to Data
The Board approved the mandate for the newly created Documents for Access, Transparency and Accountability Workgroup (DATA). The workgroup will develop an open data policy for the Board with the goal of publishing Board data online, with the exception of private information. This new policy will guide the creation and launch of an online tool that will enable the public to easily access TDSB's data. Read page 12 of this report.
Bike to School Week
Trustees made Bike to School Week an official annual event at the TDSB. The last week in May each year will be declared Bike to School Week to encourage active, safe and sustainable transportation. Details to follow.

TDSB Trustees

Michael Ford
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North

Chris Glover
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre

Pamela Gough
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Tiffany Ford
Ward 4 - York West

Howard Kaplan

Ward 5 - York Centre

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston

Robin Pilkey, Chair
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park

Jennifer Arp, Vice Chair
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence

Marit Stiles
Ward 9 - Davenport

Ausma Malik
Ward 10 - Trinity - Spadina

Shelley Laskin
Ward 11 - St. Paul's

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale

Gerri Gershon
Ward 13 - Don Valley West

Currently Vacant
Ward 14 - Toronto Centre-Rosedale
Send an email Ward 14.

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth

Sheila Cary-Meagher
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York

Ken Lister
Ward 17 - Don Valley East

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest

David Smith
Ward 19 - Scarborough Centre

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt

Neethan Shan
Ward 21 - Scarborough-Rouge River

Jerry Chadwick
Ward 22 - Scarborough East

Hamima Fattah
Student Trustee

Sammy Al Rubaie
Student Trustee

TDSB Director
of Education