Subscribe to our email list
STAR Net News - January 9, 2019
STAR Net News - January 9, 2019
January 9, 2019
Launch into STAR Net's "Summer of Space"!
As we prepare for the 2019 summer learning program, “A Universe of Stories”,The Collaborative Summer Library Program, STAR Net, and NASA have been working together on a virtual launch pad filled with STEM resources that libraries can utilize in their celebration of space exploration.
With items including vetted STEM activities, partnership opportunities, printables and many other valuable resources, STAR Net’s “Summer of Space” website can provide your library with valuable tools to help your summer learning program achieve great success.
Libraries and Citizen Science:
Seeking Pilot Sites
The Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES) is seeking 3-4 U.S. libraries that are willing to review and pilot test resources and activities related to NASA’s GLOBE Observer citizen science program.
Citizen science – also called volunteer science – engages the public in science investigations. NASA’s GLOBE Observer free mobile app enables citizen scientists of all ages to contribute to NASA science by taking photos and submitting observations of clouds, mosquito habitats, and land cover. 
STAR_Net Webinar Series
More Registration Slots Opened for All Webinars!
Craft, Engineer, and Make & Take Activities for "A Universe of Stories"
Date: Thursday January 17, 2018
Time: 4
pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
------------------------------------------------------------------------
NEW!
Infiniscope and STAR Net: Bringing Teachers and Library Staff Together!

Date: Wednesday January 23, 2018
Time: 6:30
pm ET/5:30pm CT/4:30pm MT/3:30pm PT
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planning a Night Sky Viewing
at Your Library

Date: Wednesday Februrary 20, 2018
Time: 4
pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Solar System Scale Activities
for "A Universe of Stories"

Date: Thursday March 7, 2018
Time: 4
pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
For those that are unable to attend our live webinars, we will have a recording posted on our website within a day or two after the live presentation. And remember, all webinars are now streamed LIVE on our YouTube channel for times when are webinars are full.
NASA VR Technology Survey
Goodman Research Group is conducting a survey through NASA’s Universe of Learning to learn more about VR technology in libraries.
Whether you use this technology or not, click here to complete this important survey that will influence future NASA funded programs. By completing this survey, you will be entered into a drawing for one of ten $50 Amazon.com gift certificates!
NOVA Documentary: "Addiction"
Free Screening Kits & Educational Resources on the Science of Opioid Addiction and Treatment
America is in the midst of the deadliest drug epidemic in US history. It’s estimated that in 2017 alone, more than 70,000 Americans died from drug overdoses, driven by a dramatic rise in the abuse of opioids like OxyContin, heroin, and fentanyl. As our nation looks for answers, take an unflinching look at the epidemic through the eyes of those living through it. 
Interested in screening this film in your community? Visit pbs.org/addictionfilmscreening to register for a free screening kit, view original digital videos, and read longform articles on the science of addiction. Please contact Gina Varamo with any questions.
Hands-on STEM: Kid Moon: Splat!
In this hands-on activity, patrons model ancient lunar impacts by using water balloons. This activity would tie-in well with any program that talks about the surface of the moon! 
The STAR Library Network (STAR Net) is a hands-on learning network for libraries and their communities across the country. STAR Net focuses on helping library professionals build their STEM skills by providing “science-technology activities and resources” (STAR) and training to use those resources. Plus, engage public audiences nationwide in informal and lifelong learning with the excitement of exploration and discovery through new NASA@ My Library and Project BUILD resources! 
STAR Net is built upon a strong network of collaborators and partners, led by the Space Science Institute’s (SSI) National Center for Interactive Learning (NCIL). Partners include the American Library Association’s Public Programs Office, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Afterschool Alliance, Education Development Center, Datum Advisors, Cornerstones of Science, and the Pacific Science Center. Major funding is provided by the National Science Foundation, NASA Science Mission Directorate, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
STAR Net Blogs

STEAM Engines

By Amy Holcomb
Youth Services Librarian Caitlin Savage took over STEAM programming for grades K-2 last spring at Skokie Public Library. Under her direction, the bi-monthly Science Club program became monthly and was re-branded as STEAM Engines. 

Infiniscope Activity for the Super Blood Wolf Moon Lunar Eclipse

By Luna
For anyone interested in space, space exploration, astronomy, and NASA, this year has begun with a bang!
View All Blogs
Conferences

ALA Mid-Winter Meeting
Jan. 25-29, 2019
More Info >>

ALA Annual Conference
Jun. 20-25, 2019
More Info >>
All Conferences
Programming
Opportunities

Engineers Week
Feb. 17-23, 2019
More Info >>

Citizen Science Day
Apr. 13, 2019
More Info >>

Earth Day
Apr. 22, 2019
More Info >>

Summer Learning Program: "A Universe of Stories"
Summer, 2019
More Info >>
View All Events
Follow Us!
Click on the icons below to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.
powered by emma