Subscribe to our email list
Nationals Newsletter  |  June 2, 2016
A publication of the National Speech & Debate Association

It’s finally June! The National Tournament is just around the corner. Read below for important info and reminders about our favorite week of the year!
Interp Town Hall presented by Interprod » The Interp Town Hall presented by Interprod CANNOT be missed! Join moderator Jenny Cook and panelists Dave Kraft, Joe Wycoff, Sarah Rosenberg, Byron Arthur, Jacquelyn Young, and Tony Figliola for a town hall meeting on the state of Interpretation on Sunday, June 12, at 2:15 p.m. in the Salt Palace Convention Center. Attendees will have the opportunity to ask this panel their feelings about past trends, recent rule changes, and the future of interpretation events (HI, DI, DUO, POI). Can't make it in person? Watch our livestream!
Inaugural Coach Caucuses » The NSDA is proud to announce the hosting of inaugural coach caucuses to address issues of inclusion in the speech and debate community. This year, two coach caucuses will hold their first meetings at the National Tournament on Sunday, June 12 at the Salt Palace Convention Center – Room 150 D-E. We hope interested coaches will join in this important discussion and dialogue!
African American/Black Coaches' Caucus (11:00 a.m.)
Persons who identify as an African American/Black coach are invited to attend.

Hispanic/Latino Coaches' Caucus (1:00 p.m.)
Persons who identify as an Hispanic/Latino coach are invited to attend.

The Future of Coach Caucuses (3:30 p.m.)
All interested coaches are invited to attend.

Meet McKinsey & Company » Stop by this special panel discussion and Q&A to learn more about how joining McKinsey after college can jumpstart your career! Join us Sunday, June 12, from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. at the Salt Palace Convention Center – Room 251 (located on the second level). Light refreshments and appetizers will be provided for all coaches, parents, and students in attendance. We hope to see you there!
ABOUT | McKinsey & Company is a global management consulting firm with more than 100 offices around the world. You'll hear from former debaters who are now McKinsey consultants, helping private, public, and social sector organizations solve their most difficult problems. Our consultants will share their experiences, what they've learned, and how they are thriving, bringing debating skills to a company where they can continue to learn and build their expertise into a flourishing, fulfilling career. 
Main Event Newcomers » We look forward to featuring final rounds of Program Oral Interpretation and Informative Speaking on the main events stage this year! POI finals will be Thursday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. and Informative finals will be Friday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom of the Salt Palace Convention Center.

Finals Livestream presented by Victory Briefs Institute »
Any family or team members not in attendance at the National Speech & Debate Tournament can watch all final rounds and the National Awards Assembly on our livestream, brought to you by Victory Briefs Institute. Spread the word and help cheer on the finalists in our main events!
Double Check Your Entries » If you are a high school coach and the status of your entry is not listed as Paid and Complete, please contact us right away at You can double check your team’s entry under the Salt Lake City banner of your School Profile page in the Points Application to ensure you’ll breeze through tournament registration.
Lodging » If you have not yet finalized your lodging, there is still room available at Little America, which is an excellent property located in downtown Salt Lake City. For details, click here.
Middle School Congress Chamber Assignments » Chamber assignments for MS Congress are now posted on The Joy of Tournaments. 
Middle School Registration » Middle School tournament registration will take place from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 14. Please note that the location has been moved to the Hilton Salt Lake City Center (255 West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101) in Grand Ballroom C. This change will make for a more comfortable registration process.
2016 Award Recipients » Be sure to congratulate our award winners if you see them around the tournament! 
  • 2016 HS Principal of the Year: Mike O'Toole of La Salle College High School, PA
  • 2016 MS Principal of the Year: Carlos Castillo of Wawona Middle School and Bullard High School, CA
  • 2016 HS Coach of the Year: Meg Howell-Haymaker of Mountain View High School, AZ
  • 2016 MS Coach of the Year: Deborah Simon of Milton Academy, MA
  • 2016 National Student of the Year Finalists (in alphabetical order)Madison Hall of The Montgomery Academy, AL; Karly Kinsey of Independence Truman High School, MO; Ethan Morelion of Big Spring High School, TX; Christine Vo of Spring Woods High School, TX; Marshall Webb of Saint Mary’s Hall High School, TX; and Jordyn Zimmerman of Mentor High School, OH.
Twitter Facebook Instagram
GEICO Discount
powered by emma