College of Arts and Science, Miami University
Alumni Update
April 2019
Scott Hess '89, Chief Marketing Officer at Spark Foundry in Chicago, IL, celebrated “College Signing Day” across the U.S. on May 1, encouraging his Miami alumni employees to wear college gear to work.
Scott Hess '89 (right), Chief Marketing Officer at Chicago's Spark Foundry, celebrated “Happy National Decision Day” on May 1, encouraging his employees (including a number of Miami alums!) to wear their college gear to work.
Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube
Inside Washington to celebrate 20th anniversary in DC on June 23
Psychology symposium, run by alumni, offers students "Your Road Map Toward Career Success"
Alumni-run psychology symposium offers students "Your Road Map Toward Career Success"
Jacob Bruggeman '19 is the 2019 CAS student speaker
History and political science major Jacob Bruggeman '19 named  the 2019 CAS Student Speaker. Read his 2016 Student Spotlight.
CAS Alumni News and Spotlights
2019 M.I.A.M.I. WOMEN Leadership Symposium speakers
Daniela Pierre Bravo '12, Sarah O’Neil Hannibal ’93, Anne Megerle ’04, Rachel Rudwall ’08, and Karin Maloney Stifler ’81 were among the prominent professional women who spoke on the topic "Know Your Value" at the annual M.I.A.M.I. WOMEN Leadership Symposium on April 11.
Jay Livingston
Jay Livingston ('94, speech communication) is named CMO of Shake Shack
Dustin Wygant
Dustin Wygant ('01, psychology) has received the Faculty Leadership Award at Eastern Kentucky University
Brooks Newman
Brooks Newman ('98, English literature) is senior vice president, deputy general counsel and corporate secretary at Humana
Julie Goodman
Julie Goodman ('01, public relations, marketing, and journalism) is president & CEO at Arts Council of Indianapolis
Allison Becwar
Allison Becwar ('96, social work) is president & CEO at Lincoln Families
Student News and Spotlights
Ashley Mickens '20
CAS celebrates two 2019 Goldwater Scholars and two Boren Scholars (including alternate)
For the eighth year in a row, a Miami student has been named a Goldwater Scholar, a program supported by the U.S. Congress and in collaboration with the Department of Defense's National Defense Education Program. This year, of the 1223 students from 443 institutions nominated, 496 (40.6%) were named Goldwater Scholars -- including two from Miami: Caleb Kozuszek (bio-chemistry) and Rosamiel (Rosie) Ries (geology and physics).
In addition, Miami has a David L. Boren Scholarship recipient (plus alternate) for the first time since 2014. Funded by the National Security Education Program (NSEP), the Boren Scholarship supports study abroad programs. Max Micheli (international studies and East Asian languages & cultures) and Emily Froude (international studies and political science) were among 851 undergraduates across the U.S. who applied for the program this year.
2019 Goldwater Scholar Caleb Kozuszek
Goldwater Scholar Caleb Kozuszek 
Mentor: Dominik Konkolewicz (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
2019 Goldwater Scholar Rosie Ries
Goldwater Scholar 
Rosamiel (Rosie) Ries 

Mentor: Mike Brudzinski 
(Geology & Environmental Earth Science)
Max Micheli
Boren Scholar Max Micheli will spend spring semester 2020 in Chengdu, China
Emily Froude
Alternate Boren Scholar Emily Froude will study in Jordan in spring and summer 2020
Hua Zhu MA English
Hua Zhu (English MA student) received the CAS Graduate Student Teaching Award
Critical Language Scholars 2019: Sydney Chuen, Inaara Ladha, and Sophia Pauken
2019 Critical Language Scholars: Sydney Chuen (ITS, French) for Arabic; Inaara Ladha (international studies & comparative religion) for Hindi; Sophia Pauken (international studies, German) alternate for Arabic
2019 President's Distinguished Service Award recipients = exceptional seniors
CAS students and recent grads offered Fulbright awards to conduct research or teach overseas
6 CAS students and recent grads offered Fulbright awards to conduct research or teach overseas
CAS Faculty Spotlights
Microbiology faculty collaborate on research
Microbiology faculty Rachael Morgan-Kiss, Xin Wang, D.J. Ferguson, and Annette Bollmann collaborate on $5.2 million funds for research from Acton Lake to Antarctica.
  • Jennifer Kinney (Sociology & Gerontology) has been selected as the 2019 Educator of the Year by the Ohio Association of Gerontology and Education (OAGE).
  • Ann Hagerman (Chemistry & Biochemistry) was awarded a grant from Colorado State University to research tannins.
  • Yu-Fang Cho (English) was awarded a research grant ("The Afterlives of the Nuclear Pacific") from Cornell University.
  • Liz Widom & Patricia Marquez (Geology & Environmental Earth Science) were awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation: "From Cones to Clusters: Evolution of a Monogenetic Volcanic Field."
  • April Smith (Psychology) recently received over $1.5 million in two grants from the Department of Defense to oversee the testing of a suicide intervention program designed for service members and understand the symptoms of suicidal ideation.
Support CAS Students and the Liberal Arts - Give to CAS
College of Arts and Science
100 Bishop Circle • Oxford, OH 45056-1879
513-529-1234 •
© 2019 Miami University. All rights reserved.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.