SBCC Theatre Arts Department announces Sara Evelyn Smith Scholarship winners

The 2020-21 Sara Evelyn Smith Scholarship winners include, top row: Marianne Paculba, Ida Wadman, Anne Towbes (sponsor); middle row: Maria Lopez, Henry Alper, Haoyu Wang; and bottom row: Isaac Hernandez.
The Santa Barbara City College Theatre Arts Department is proud to announce the winners of the Sara Evelyn Smith Monologue Competition. These talented students competed with monologues over a Zoom format and were awarded $1,000 each for the 2020-21 school year. The Sara Evelyn Smith Scholarship competition is judged by faculty members of the Theatre Arts Department and Anne Smith Towbes, who was a past member of the SBCC Foundation Board and instrumental in establishing the scholarship in 2001.

The winners of this year’s scholarships are Marianne Paculba, Ida Wadman, Maria Lopez, Henry Alper, Haoyu Wang and Isaac Hernandez.

The Sara Evelyn Smith Scholarships in Theatre Arts were established in honor of a very special woman who spent over 50 years in theatre arts education. She acted in numerous productions, taught theatre in the Detroit Michigan, school system, and directed musical shows and youth theatre productions for most of her life. Her son, the late Bob Smith, owned KEYT-TV in Santa Barbara and her daughter-in-law Anne was an educator in theatre arts and past President of the Board of Directors of the Lobero Theatre.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.