TDSB Chair's Newsletter
Volume 33 - Feb. 26, 2020
TDSB Survey Finds Significant Majority Oppose Government Plan for Mandatory E-Learning Courses
Recently, the Toronto District School Board issued a survey to a random sample of parents/guardians and students, and all secondary school teachers, to better understand their views and level of support for the Government of Ontario’s plan for mandatory e-learning for all secondary students.
The results show that of the student, parent/guardian and secondary school teacher respondents, most do not support the government’s plan to make e-learning a mandatory requirement for graduation, nor do they believe that it will benefit students.
For more information, including a more detailed analysis and a letter to the Minister of Education, visit
Chair Submits Pre-Budget Consultation and Feedback on Education Funding to Ontario Government
Chair Robin Pilkey submitted the Toronto District School Board’s Pre-Budget Consultation Submission for 2020 to the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs for the Government of Ontario. The Chair also submitted the TDSB’s 2020-2021 Education Funding Engagement Guide Consultation to the Ministry of Education.
Both documents provided feedback and an overview of concerns related to key funding areas, including special education, class sizes, e-learning and Education Development Charges.
The submissions are now available online on the 2020-21 Budget webpage. 
Chair Calls on Government to Translate Coronavirus Information
On behalf of the Toronto District School Board, Chair Robin Pilkey wrote to Premier Ford to express the Board’s concerns with the Government of Ontario’s lack of translated public communications and information about the coronavirus.
Read the full letter. 
Heritage and History Months
PR728, Newly Developed Procedure, Reporting and Responding to Racism and Hate Incidents Involving or Impacting Students in Schools, and Revisions to Procedure PR515, Workplace Harassment Prevention and Human Rights
The Board received the report on the newly developed procedure.
The Reporting and Responding to Racism and Hate Incidents Involving or Impacting Students in Schools Procedure (PR728) was developed to set clear expectations about the processes to be followed and the Board’s responsibilities in situations where there are acts of racism and hate. 
Development of a Specialized Schools and Programs Policy: Phase 2, New Policy 
Trustees approved the policy development work plan for a Specialized Schools and Programs Policy. The new policy will be created to mirror the Alternative Schools Policy, in which clear definitions and policy directions for Specialized Programs will be established.
TDSB students have access to specialized programs that offer unique opportunities and focus on a variety of interests. Each specialized program has specific requirements as well as unique admission criteria. Under the proposed policy, specialized schools will continue to operate in the TDSB.
Mid-Year Update on the Implementation of the Multi-Year Strategic Action Plans: Inclusion
The Board received the report Mid-Year Update on the Implementation of the Multi-Year Strategic Action Plans: Inclusion. This report provides an update on the Board’s goals and on-going work to providing equitable access to programs, resources and opportunities in order to improve learning outcomes and post-secondary opportunities for all students.
Proposed 2020-21 Budget Schedule and Process
The schedule and process for this year’s budget has been updated based on feedback from Trustees and lessons learned from last year.
Learn more about the TDSB’s 2020-21 Budget
Next Board Meeting
The next regular Board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, March 11, 2020.

TDSB Trustees

Harpreet Gill
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North

Dan MacLean
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre

Patrick Nunziata
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Christopher Mammoliti
Ward 4 - Humber River-Black Creek

Alexandra Lulka

Ward 5 - York Centre

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston

Robin Pilkey
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park

Shelley Laskin
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's

Stephanie Donaldson
Ward 9 - Davenport and Spadina-Fort York

Chris Moise
Ward 10 - University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre

Rachel Chernos Lin
Ward 11 - Don Valley West

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale

James Li
Ward 13 - Don Valley North

Trixie Doyle
Ward 14 - Don Valley East

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth

Michelle Aarts
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York

David Smith
Ward 17 - Scarborough Centre

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest

Zakir Patel
Ward 19 - Scarborough-Guildwood

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt

Yalini Rajakulasingam
Ward 21 - Scarborough North

Anu Sriskandarajah
Ward 22 - Scarborough-Rouge Park

Adnan Habib
Student Trustee

Ivy Deng

Student Trustee

Clarity Smoke
Indigenous Student Trustee

Director of Education

John Malloy

Subscribe to our email list.