TDSB Chair's Newsletter
Volume 39 - January 2021
Karen Falconer Appointed as TDSB Interim Director of Education
On Thursday, Dec. 17, TDSB Chair Alexander Brown announced the appointment of Karen Falconer as TDSB’s Interim Director of Education. Karen steps into the role following the retirement of Dr. Kathy Witherow at the end of December 2020.

For more information, please read the news release
New Lockdown Measures
Recently, the Government of Ontario announced that all elementary schools in Southern Ontario, including those at the TDSB, will be closed to students until Monday, January 11, while all secondary schools will be closed to students until Monday, January 25. During this time, all in-person schools will be shifting to remote learning, while virtual schools will continue as normal.
For more information, including a parent/guardian letter that has been translated into multiple languages, please read the TDSB web story Reminder: New Lockdown Measures.  
TDSB Approves 10-Year Planning Strategy (2020-2029)
Trustees have approved the Board’s Long-Term Program and Accommodation Strategy. The strategy, which is aligned with the Board’s Multi-Year Strategic Plan, outlines program and student accommodation studies to be conducted over the next ten years and allows the TDSB to develop plans to balance enrolment and increase access to programs and opportunities for all students.
For more information, please read the news release
Heritage and History Months
The Toronto District School Board is proud to celebrate Tamil Heritage Month during the month of January. 
The following items were approved or received by the Board of Trustees at the December Regular Board Meeting:
For a full list of Board decisions, please read the Summary of Decisions.
Upcoming Meetings
The next Regular Board Meeting is on Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2021. For a list of upcoming meetings, please click on the calendar on the main webpage of

TDSB Trustees

Harpreet Gill
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North

Dan MacLean
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre

Patrick Nunziata
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Christopher Mammoliti
Ward 4 - Humber River-Black Creek

Alexandra Lulka

Ward 5 - York Centre

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston

Robin Pilkey
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park

Shelley Laskin
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's

Stephanie Donaldson
Ward 9 - Davenport and Spadina-Fort York

Chris Moise
Ward 10 - University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre

Rachel Chernos Lin
Ward 11 - Don Valley West

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale

James Li
Ward 13 - Don Valley North

Trixie Doyle
Ward 14 - Don Valley East

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth

Michelle Aarts
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York

David Smith
Ward 17 - Scarborough Centre

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest

Zakir Patel
Ward 19 - Scarborough-Guildwood

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt

Yalini Rajakulasingam
Ward 21 - Scarborough North

Anu Sriskandarajah
Ward 22 - Scarborough-Rouge Park

Interim Director of Education

Karen Falconer
Subscribe to our email list.