STAR_Net News - April 2017
STAR_Net News - April 2017
April 4, 2017
Attention!! April is the Last Month to Apply for Free Eclipse Glasses and Receive an Eclipse Education Kit!
You may have registered your interest for this event, but has your library submitted their official application? 
If you're not sure, please take a moment and visit our application site. If your library has not completed this online application, then your library is NOT done. The deadline for submitting this application is May 1st, so don't delay!
If you have any questions or concerns about the status of your library for this grant, please contact Anne Holland.
Upstream Event: NASA Eclipse
Community Planning
Date: Friday, April 7th, 2017
5pm EDT / 4pm CDT / 3pm MDT / 2pm PDT
Presenter: Dr. Alex Young

On April 7th, 2017, stream a live presentation from the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Invite leaders in your community to join you to learn about NASA’s studies of the Sun and how you can plan and participate in community events during the total solar eclipse on August 21st.
NASA specialists will discuss some of the NASA missions that study the Sun as well as how you can get your community involved in planning and participating in exciting eclipse activities leading up to the big event in August. Presenters will take questions from live audiences at Festus Public Library (Festus, MO), Valley of the Tetons Library (Driggs, Idaho), and Monmouth Public Library (Monmouth, Oregon), as well as through Ustream. Join us!
STAR_Net Webinar Series
Earth Science for a Better World
Date: Wednesday, April 12th, 2017
Presenter: Christine Shupla

Join STAR_Net and the Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI) on April 12 for two free professional development webinars on the STAR_Net Earth science activities created by LPI’s Explore program. Register to receive connection information and directions to help you better participate in the activities during the webinar.
Attend both webinars – or just one! – as it fits your needs and schedule!
Earth Science for a Better World, Part 1
3pm EDT / 2pm CDT / 1pm MDT / 12pm PDT
Looking for fun activities related to your local environment? This 30-minute session will model and include discussions of these activities:
  • Fastest Dresser
    Race to dress in clothing and gear appropriate for a specific type of weather.
  • Nurturing Life
    Explore what living things need to survive and thrive by creating and caring for a garden.
  • Recipe for a Region
    Discuss how your climate influences the local agriculture, then identify a type of food unique to the region and select (and possibly make) a recipe that features that ingredient.
Earth Science for a Better World, Part 2
3:45pm EDT / 2:45pm CDT / 1:45pm MDT / 12:45pm PDT
This 45-minute session will explore our watery world and changing climate with the following activities. Participants will discuss various options for implementation, and share ideas in how to best conduct these programs.
  • Catch the World’s Oceans
    Toss a soft Earth globe and record how often your thumb is on land or on ocean.
  • Ice-Y Experiences
    Play “Ice Bingo” by finding other participants who have had the icy experiences matching those on the game cards.
  • Polar Bears Go with the Floes
    Play a board game in which chance and choice determine the fate of a polar bear on an ice floe.
On the day of the webinar, make sure to have access to the Internet (tip: Ethernet works better than wireless!) and computer speakers.
(password is "star")
Crowd-pleasing Hands-on Activities for Your Eclipse Programs
Date: Wednesday, April 26th, 2017
Time:
3pm EDT / 2pm CDT / 1pm MDT / 12pm PT
Presenter: Keliann LaConte
Learn how to facilitate activities that will have your patrons asking, “Really!?!,” and exclaiming “That’s so cool!”
Sun Cookies are a sure crowd-pleaser — join us to see how these tasty treats can help young learners explore the Sun. Engage both youth and adults in out-of-this-world explorations of how our small Moon can eclipse the huge Sun. Experiment with integrating technology into your eclipse programs using online games as well as equipment you may already have on hand.
(password is "star")

Miss Past Webinars? Get Them Here!

Hands-on STEM: Wind Streamer
Weather on Earth is always changing, but scientists — and children — can watch and use tools to note the different types of weather.
In this craft activity, children use common materials to create a tool and use it to determine the wind’s direction. Download the Wind Streamer activity guide, view the how-to video, print a customizable teacher's guide to share with local school districts, and add your review of the activity on the STAR_Net STEM Activity Clearinghouse.
Credit: TLL Temple Memorial Library in Diboll, TX
The STAR Library Education Network (STAR_Net) is a hands-on learning network for libraries and their communities across the country. STAR_Net focuses on helping library professionals build their STEM skills by providing “science-technology activities and resources” (STAR) and training to use those resources. Plus, engage public audiences nationwide in informal and lifelong learning with the excitement of exploration and discovery through new NASA@ My Library resources! 
STAR_Net is built upon a strong network of collaborators and partners, led by the Space Science Institute’s (SSI) National Center for Interactive Learning (NCIL). Partners include the American Library Association’s Public Programs Office, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Afterschool Alliance, Education Development Center, Datum Advisors, Cornerstones of Science, and the Pacific Science Center. Major funding is provided by the National Science Foundation, NASA Science Mission Directorate, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Latest Blogs

The Best Buy Community Grants Program

The Best Buy Community Grants Program provides support to community-based organizations that are located within 50 miles of a Best Buy facility.

Green Screen Challenge

In December, we wanted to frame our family STEAM program, Mission BOOMbox, around the idea of holiday card giving.

Happy World Water Day!

In honor of World Water Day, here is a look at some water resources and program opportunities!
View All Blogs
Programing Opportunities

Earth Day

Apr. 22, 2017

Build A Better World

Summer, 2017

2017 Solar Eclipse
Aug. 21, 2017

Day of Saturn
Sept. 15, 2017

Int'l Observe the Moon Night
Oct. 28, 2017
View All Events
Follow Us!
Click any of the icons below to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.