College of Arts and Science, Miami University
Alumni Update
March 2019
New video highlighting student opportunities in a wide variety of majors at Miami's College of Arts and Science
Check out our new video, which highlights the liberal arts and the real-world, transferable skills that students gain at Miami's College of Arts and Science.
CAS Faculty Spotlights
CAS faculty clean up major 2019 university awards
At the annual Miami University Awards Ceremony on March 19, eight faculty from the College of Arts and Science (out of 11 total) were overwhelmingly recognized by President Gregory Crawford and Provost Phyllis Callahan for their excellence in teaching and scholarship.
8 CAS faculty recognized at 2019 University Awards Ceremony
Not to be outdone, professor of English and global & intercultural studies Gwendolyn Etter-Lewis was separately honored with the 2019 Jennie Elder Suel Distinguished Woman of Color Award.
This award recognizes spirited women of color, particularly those who have been warm and welcoming to others. It is named after Jennie Elder Suel, who received recognition in 1994. Suel volunteered in the Miami and Oxford communities by providing housing, meals, and entertainment for Miami students.
CAS Alumni News and Spotlights
MJF's TV studio dedicated to Rick Ludwin '70
William Hall's TV studio was dedicated to alum Rick Ludwin (mass communication, 1970) in a special March ceremony hosted by the Dept of Media, Journalism & Film (MJF) chair Bruce Drushel, other MJF faculty, and former students. During his long and distinguished career at NBC, Rick oversaw late night staples including The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Late Night with Conan O'Brien, and Saturday Night Live. He also championed notable prime-time series such as Seinfeld and The Office.
Todd Foster, MEn in Environmental Science (2000); MBA in Business Administration (2001)
Alumni Spotlight: Todd Foster (MEn, 2000), manager of capital & projects at Safran, came to Miami with career advice for IES students
Daniela Pierre-Bravo
Daniela Pierre-Bravo (international studies and marketing, 2012) will speak at the M.I.A.M.I. WOMEN Leadership Symposium about her book, Earn It! Know Your Value and Grow Your Career in Your 20s and Beyond
Jason Spence (PhD, 2006)
Jason Spence (PhD in Biology, 2006) is named H. Marvin Pollard Collegiate Professor of Gastroenterology
Yvette Simpson
Yvette Simpson (political science, 2000) is the first female CEO of Democracy for America, a progressive political action committee
Karen Kosiba
Alumni Spotlight: Karen Kosiba (M.S. in Physics, 2002) is a research scientist at the Center for Severe Weather Research in Boulder, CO and spoke to Miami physics majors
David Kajganich
Screenwriter Dave Kajganich (creative writing, 1991) was Miami's McComb Writer in Residence for Creative Writing and co-wrote the 2019 film adaptation of Pet Sematary
Mandi Grandjean
Mandi Grandjean (political science, 2013) is Director of Elections, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for the Ohio Secretary of State
Jon Gambrell
Jon Gambrell (English and Spanish, 2004) has been promoted to Gulf and Iran News Director at The Associated Press
  • Shane Ankeny (mass communications, 1990) and Laura Nardella (speech communication, 2004) reflect on their participation in Miami's Inside New York program
  • Ashley Wilson (foreign policy and diplomacy, 1994) is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel at the Motion Picture Association of America
  • Jay Livingston (speech communication, 1994) is now the Chief Marketing Officer for Shake Shack
  • John Jesser (mass communications, 1986) was named President, LiveHealth Online and Employer Solutions at American Well
  • Chris O'Hara (mass communication, 1997) is Executive Director, Production at ABC Entertainment Marketing

Student News and Spotlights
Katherine Rodriguez student spotlight
Italy: students experience the chemistry of art and food
In January, 13 students who had completed at least 1 semester of chemistry joined chemistry faculty Susan Marine and Janet Marshall to learn about and experience the chemistry of art and food in the cities and countryside of Italy.
Miami students win the Mark of Excellence Award in Cleveland, Ohio
Journalism students, including first-place winners Ceili Doyle, Kirby Davis, and Julia Plant, were honored at the annual Mark of Excellence competition, sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.
Andrew Fausey student spotlight
Megan Cremeans and Blake Burrell
Political science major Megan Cremeans and physics and psychology major Blake Burrell are recipients of the 2019-2020 Joanna Jackson Goldman Memorial Prize
Valerie Thompson
Microbiology major/sociology minor Valerie Thompson wins 3rd in the President's Undergraduate Student Paper Competition from the North Central Sociological Association
Alaina Swope
Psychology major Alaina Swope wins her department's E.F. Patten Prize
Support CAS Students and the liberal arts - Give to CAS.
Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn YouTube
College of Arts and Science
100 Bishop Circle • Oxford, OH 45056-1879
513-529-1234 •
© 2019 Miami University. All rights reserved.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.