Contact Tom Kornegay at 678.925.8479 or
ATLANTA – A diverse mix of physicians from across the state graduated from the 12th class of the Medical Association of Georgia (MAG) Foundation’s Georgia Physicians Leadership Academy (GPLA) in a virtual ceremony that took place on May 2. 
“The GPLA was established to develop physician leaders and improve health care delivery for their patients, communities, and the medical profession,” says GPLA Steering Committee Chair Stephen Jarrard, M.D. “The year-long curriculum includes classes that address leadership development, conflict resolution, physician resilience, media relations, and advocacy – and participants must design and complete a leadership project.”
This year’s GPLA graduates include Michelle Au, M.D., an anesthesiologist in Atlanta; Julianne Birt, M.D., an obstetrician in Covington; Tameka Byrd, D.O., a family medicine physician in Warner Robins; Anthony Chappell, M.D., a cardiologist in Statesboro; Waldon Garriss, M.D., an internist and pediatrician in Marietta; Jennifer Holton, M.D., a psychiatrist in Atlanta; Umamaheswari Jonnalagadda, M.D., a family medicine physician in Douglas; Walter McClelland, M.D., an orthopaedic surgeon in Atlanta; Jayne Morgan, M.D., a cardiologist in Atlanta; Pickens “Trey” Patterson, M.D., an interventional pain physician in Atlanta; Vandana Reddy, M.D., an ophthalmologist in Atlanta; Colin Segovis, M.D., a radiologist in Atlanta; John Wood, M.D., an emergency medicine physician in Macon; Joanne Zhu, M.D., a hospitalist in Marietta; and Royden Daniels, M.D., a radiologist in Atlanta. 
Members of the incoming GPLA class include Melhim Bou Alwan, M.D., a hospitalist in LaGrange; Joy Baker, M.D., an OB-GYN in LaGrange; Bret Crumpton D.O., an ophthalmologist in Columbus; Tom Fausett, M.D., a family physician in Adel; Patrick Hall, M.D., an adult primary care physician in Atlanta; Renee Haynes, M.D., a public health specialist in family medicine in Macon; Andrea Juliao, M.D., a family physician in Atlanta; James Malcolm, M.D., an orthopaedic spine surgeon in Atlanta; Chris McAdams, M.D., a radiologist in Atlanta; Joshua Murphy, M.D., an orthopaedic surgeon in Atlanta; Kalpana Prasad, M.D., a psychiatrist in Atlanta; and Carmen Sulton, M.D., an emergency medicine physician in Atlanta.  
​More than 160 physicians – including MAG President Andrew Reisman, M.D., and the majority of MAG’s Executive Committee and others who serve in leadership roles at MAG and other state and local medical societies – have graduated from GPLA. 
The MAG Foundation’s mission is to enable physicians to support medical science and public health projects that enhance the quality of life in the state. Go to and for additional information on MAG and the MAG Foundation. 
GPLA Class 12: Back Row, L-R – Colin Segovis, M.D., Jennifer Holton, M.D., Trey Patterson, M.D., John Wood, M.D., Waldon Garriss, M.D., Walter McClelland, M.D., Anthony Chappell, M.D., Joanne Zhu, M.D., and Umamaheswari Jonnalagadda, M.D. Front Row, L-R – Vandana Reddy, M.D., Tameka Byrd, D.O., former GPLA Steering Committee Chair John Sy, D.O., GPLA Steering Committee Chair Stephen Jarrard, M.D., Michelle Au, M.D., Julianne Birt, M.D., and Jayne Morgan, M.D.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.