$19,000 awarded to students across Alaska
$19,000 awarded to students across Alaska
Alaska TIA

ATIA Foundation Announces Annual Scholarship Recipients

$19,000 Awarded to Students Across Alaska
Anchorage, AK – The Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA) Foundation announced $19,000 in scholarship awards to 10 outstanding recipients from across the state. These competitive, one-year awards recognize students who have a passion to succeed in fields related to the travel industry.

“At a time when Alaska’s tourism industry is struggling due to the devastating effects of COVID-19, the ATIA Foundation scholarship awards look toward a brighter future,” said Sarah Leonard, ATIA President and CEO. “These students are pursuing degrees that emphasize leadership, business development, marketing, and hands-on skills that will greatly benefit Alaska tourism – and our communities – in the long-run. We look forward to their participation in our industry.”
Thank you to the named donors and ATIA members who support this annual program!

A Taste of Alaska Lodge
Alaska Coach Tours
Alaska Collection by Pursuit
Alaska Railroad Corporation
Alaska Society of Outdoor Nature Photographers
All Alaska Tours
ATIA Anchorage Chapter
Chuck West Memorial Scholarship
Cruise Lines International Association
Holland America Line
Kris Geldaker Memorial Scholarship
Tania Hancock Memorial Scholarship


A Taste of Alaska Lodge Scholarship

Dylan Bender, Eagle River, $1,000


Alaska Collection by Pursuit Scholarship

Chloe Manderson, Anchorage, $1,250

Laura Geissinger, Wasilla, $1,250


Alaska Railroad Corporation Scholarship

Lucy Hankins, Seward, $1,000


Alaska Society of Outdoor Nature Photographers Scholarship

Rafael Bitanga, Kodiak, $1,000


All Alaska Tours Scholarship, for students pursuing education in Business Administration

Chloe Manderson, Anchorage, $1,500


ATIA Anchorage Chapter Scholarship

Dylan Bender, Eagle River, $2,000


Chuck West Memorial Scholarship, funded through an endowment established in memory of Chuck West, founder of Westours and Cruise West.

Meg Smedley, Eagle River, $1,000


Cruise Lines International Association- Alaska Scholarship

Rafael Bitanga, Kodiak, $1,000


Holland America Line Scholarship

Jenessa Lorenz, Whittier, $1,500

Linnaea Gossard, Cooper Landing, $1,000


Kris Geldaker Memorial Scholarship, awarded in memory of Kris Geldaker to students pursuing a tourism or maritime-related degree.

Laura Geissinger, Wasilla, $2,500


Tim McDonnell Mentorship Scholarship, funded through the support of Alaska Coach Tours in honor of Tim McDonnell, the former vice president of Alaska operations for Princess and Holland America Lines.

Oceana Howes, Anchorage, $1,000

Tania Hancock Memorial Scholarship

Christi Cruickshank, Fairbanks, $2,000
The ATIA Foundation invests in Alaskans to ensure the quality of people employed in Alaska’s visitor industry. Scholarship recipients are enrolled in a program of study in preparation for a career in tourism. Funds are raised from members during ATIA’s annual convention and through business sponsorships.

The Alaska Travel Industry Association (www.Alaskatia.org) is Alaska’s leading statewide membership trade association for the travel industry and represents more than 600 members and businesses supporting Alaska tourism. ATIA promotes Alaska’s travel industry as one of the state’s major economic forces and advocates for the growth of the industry while remaining attentive to Alaska’s natural environment, diverse cultures, and unique quality of life. 
Alaska Travel Industry Association - the voice of Alaska's tourism industry.
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.