TDSB Chair's Newsletter
Volume 23 - February 2019
2019-20 Budget 

Each year, TDSB Trustees and staff work together to pass a balanced budget that best supports the achievement and well-being of all students. For all the up-to-date information on the budget process, including how you can participate, please visit the TDSB webpage for 2019-20 Budget
Chair Writes Letter to the Minister and Toronto MPPs, re: Priority Schools Initiative EPO 

On behalf of the Toronto District School Board, Chair Robin Pilkey wrote to the Minister of Education and all Toronto-area Members of Provincial Parliament to express the Board’s concerns about the reduction in provincial funding for programs that help Toronto’s most at-risk communities and youth. 
Chair Participates in Ontario’s Pre-Budget Consultations 

On Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, Chair Robin Pilkey presented to the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs for the Government of Ontario. The Chair highlighted the Board’s bold and transformational changes and proposed provincial action to respond to the persistent budget pressures the Board continues to face. Her remarks, with an appendix that details more information on the topics presented, is available online
Three TDSB Educators Recognized as Canada’s Outstanding Principals for 2019

Three Toronto District School Board Principals have been recognized by The Learning Partnership as being among Canada’s Outstanding Principals of 2019:
• Harpreet Ghuman, Crescent Town ES
• Georgia Gallagher, Ursula Franklin Academy
• Scott Woolford, Island Public/Natural Science School
For more information, please read the full news release.

trending@tdsb will take you inside schools across the Toronto District School Board to discover some of the exciting and innovational teaching and learning happening in our classrooms. Written by former education journalist for the Toronto Star, Louise Brown, these stories focus on fresh kinds of learning, new ways of teaching, reaching deeper into our communities, putting equity into action and all-round cool schools with stories to share.
Recent Heritage Months and Celebrations at the TDSB

January: Tamil Heritage Month and Let's Talk: Mental Health and Well-Being.
Restoring the Ontario Student Assistance Program

Trustees decided that the Chair of the Board, Robin Pilkey, will write to the Premier of Ontario, Minister of Education and Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities to express the Board’s concerns regarding the announced changes to the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP). 

Under the proposed changes, for the 2019-2020 school year, many students with lower socioeconomic backgrounds will see their funding cut in half, while students from middle-class families will lose their grant support entirely, along with significant reductions in their loans.

Read the full motion (20.1). 
Update on Education Program Other (EPO) Grants for 2018-19 

The Board decided (19.4) that:

• permits continue to be issued to the organizations that fall under the Community Use of Schools – Priority Schools Initiative, following the parameters, as presented in the report; and

• the reduction of the Community Use of Schools – Priority Schools Initiative funding be communicated to all impacted permit holders, outlining the Board’s decision to cover the costs of these permits despite the funding loss, and to urge them to communicate to the Minister, the potential long-term impact of this funding loss to their organization and the community they serve.
Budget Development Timelines, 2019-20

Trustees approved the 2019-20 budget development timelines, which outlines achievements like public consultations, the approval of budget priorities and the approval of the 2019-2020 Operating and Capital Budgets.

Read the Board decision (19.4). 
Reclaiming the Original Name of the First Nations School of Toronto

The Board approved the renaming of First Nations School of Toronto to Wandering Spirit School. This change honours the original name given to the school at the time of its founding in 1976 and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) Calls to Action (2015).

Read the Board decision (19.6)
Establishment of an LGBTQ2S Community Advisory Committee 

The Board approved the establishment of a new LGBTQ2S Community Advisory Committee. LGBTQ2S is an acronym for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, queer, questioning and 2-Spirit. This committee will help bring issues, concerns and suggestions forward to the Board to better support LGBTQ2S youth and families across the system.

Read the Board decision (19.2)
P038, Achieving Excellence in Reading, Writing and Mathematics: Policy Review, Phase 1

Trustees approved the policy review work plan for P038, Achieving Excellence in Reading, Writing and Mathematics. The work plan involves merging two policies with related content, Literacy Foundation Policy (P003) and the Mathematics Foundation Policy (P004), to create one comprehensive policy.  

Read the Board decision (19.3). 
Applegrove Community Complex Board of Management

The Board nominated Trustee Jennifer Story as its representative on the Applegrove Community Complex Board of Management for a term ending on November 14, 2022.

Read the Board decision (17.1).  
Davisville Junior Public School and Spectrum Alternative Senior School: Approval to Proceed

Trustees approved the new Davisville Junior Public School and Spectrum Alternative Senior School construction project, including the use of $1,965,509 of Proceeds of Disposition to fund the project.
Next Board Meeting
The next regular Board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, March 20, 2019.

TDSB Trustees

Harpreet Gill
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North

Dan MacLean
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre

Patrick Nunziata
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Christopher Mammoliti
Ward 4 - Humber River-Black Creek

Alexandra Lulka

Ward 5 - York Centre

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston

Robin Pilkey
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park

Shelley Laskin
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's

Stephanie Donaldson
Ward 9 - Davenport and Spadina-Fort York

Chris Moise
Ward 10 - University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre

Rachel Chernos Lin
Ward 11 - Don Valley West

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale

James Li
Ward 13 - Don Valley North

Trixie Doyle
Ward 14 - Don Valley East

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth

Michelle Aarts
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York

David Smith
Ward 17 - Scarborough Centre

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest

Zakir Patel
Ward 19 - Scarborough-Guildwood

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt

Yalini Rajakulasingam
Ward 21 - Scarborough North

Anu Sriskandarajah
Ward 22 - Scarborough-Rouge Park

Amin Ali
Student Trustee

Ivy Deng

Student Trustee

Director of Education

John Malloy

Subscribe to our email list.