USASBE 2016 Award Winners!

Max S. Wortman, Jr. Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneuship Award
Gerald Hills, Bradley University
Pictured right at podium, Gerry Hills, standing Alex DeNoble)

John E. Hughes Entrepreneurial Advocacy Award

Jeff Hornsby, University of Missouri- Kansas City
(Pictured to the left Alex DeNoble, Ted Zoller, and Jeff Hornsby)
USASBE Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year
Edward Williams, Rice University
Albert Napier, Rice University
(Pictured right seated Ed Williams, standing Al Napier)

2016 Justin G. Longenecker Fellows
Michael Fountain, University of South Florida
Kelly Shaver, College of Charleston

(Pictured left Kelly Shaver and Michael Fountain)
USASBE Corporate Entrepreneur of the Year
George Hadjis, Oggi's Pizza & Brewing Company
National Model Undergraduate Entrepreneurship Program
The University of Tampa
Outstanding Emerging Entrepreneuship Program
University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Berthiaume Center for Entrepreneurship
Outstanding Specialty Entrepreneuship Program
University of Florida, Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Warrington College of Business Administration
Outstanding Entrepreneurship Program Abroad
University College Ghent, Belgium
Special Recognition in Entrepreneurship Education Innovation
Jim Hart, Southern Methodist University
Outstanding Workshop Award
"How to Teach Design Thinking within Entrepreneurship- A Practical Guide" Chris Mumford, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill, Ted Zoller, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill
Outstanding Workshop Award-Pedagogy
"A Clinical Approach in Entrepreneurship Teaching and Research: Fostering Entrepreneurial Culture through an Entrepreneurship Clinic Model" Lewis Sheats, North Carolina State University, Jeffrey Pollack, North Carolina State University, David Townsend, Virginia Tech University, Steve Markham, North Carolina State University

John Jack Award Sponsored by Syrcuse University
"Still a Man's World? Second Generation Gender Bias in External Equity Term Sheet Negotiations" Ethne Swartz, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Francis Amatucci, Slippery Rock University, Susan Coleman, University of Hartford
Academic Paper Most Relevant to Entrepreneurs
"Is Business Model Validation Valid? Empirical Results from a Cleantech Accelerator" Ted Ladd, Hult International Business School
USASBE Best Paper in Entrepreneurial Finance Sponsored by Venture Financing SIG
"Government Venture Capital andCross-Border Investment" Brian Cozzarin, University of Waterloo, Douglas Cumming, York University,  Arash Soleimani Dahaj, University of  Waterloo
USASBE Best Paper in Social Entrepreneurship Sponsored by Fairleigh Dickinson University
The Changing Paradigm of Fair Trade Social Entrepreneurs and Conscious Capitalism" John Cater, The University of Texas at Tyler, Lorna Collins, Royal Agricultural University, Brent Beal, The University of Texas at Tyler
USASBE Best Paper in Entrepreneurship and Public Policy Sponsored by University of  Wisconsin-Whitewater
Corruption and Bureaucracy in Entrepreneurship" Antonio Lecuna, Universidad del Desarrollo
USASBE Best Paper in Family Business Sponsored by Florida Atlantic University & Northeastern University
Portfolio Entrepreneurship in Family Firms: Taking Stock and Moving Forward" Naveed Akhter, Jonkoping University
USASBE Best Empirical Paper Sponsored by American Journal of Entrepreneurship/ Turner College of Business at Columbus State University
"Towards an Improved Understanding of the Antecedents of Business Planning: A Knowledge-based Perspective" Marc Gruber, Ecole Polytechnique Federal de Lausanne, Jeffrey Petty, University of Lausanne
USASBE Best Empirical Paper-Runner Up
"The Motivational Readiness Model of Entrepreneurship" Steffan Jahn, University of Goettingen, Mario Geissler, Chemnitz University of Technology
Best Teaching Case Sponsored by Baylor University
"Pursuing Innovation in a Commodity Market: The Case of CMP North America" Jody Tompson, The University of Tampa
Baylor Case Writing Award 
"Rahul Yadav:'s Maverick Entrepreneur" Muralidhara GV, IBS Hyderabad, Hadiya Faheem
Journal of Small Business Management's Editor's Choice Award
"Generative Capacity: A Key Catalyzing Resource for Entrepreneurial Activity and Breakthrough Innovation" Eric Monsen, University of Vermont, Alfredo De Massis, Lancaster University, Stephan Heblich, University of Bristol, David Audretsch, Indiana University, Josip Kotlar, Lancaster University
Best Doctoral Student Paper Award
"Can a Thriving Entrepreneurial Ecosystem Ensure New Venture Growth?" Sumita Sarma, University of Missouri- Kansas City
Conference Proceedings will be available soon. To view past award winners, please visit
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.