Dear colleague:
The move from Box to OneDrive will start in a few short weeks. More details about what to expect during the transition period will be shared as soon as they are available. Please remember:
  • No action is required on your part to complete the data transfer. Please do not transfer your files manually to OneDrive.
  • You can still use Box while the data transfer is underway. Your Box files will be available and will be synced to OneDrive during the transition period.
  • Once the transfer is complete, you will have the opportunity to review your Box data in OneDrive before Box is officially retired on June 30, 2021.
  • If you have data security questions about using OneDrive for the research or university data in your care, please contact it@umass.edu for a full review. 
  • If Google Drive is your preferred online file storage platform, we recommend that you wait until your Box data is copied to OneDrive, then transfer it to Google Drive. Learn more about moving your files to Google Drive


Prepare for the Move to OneDrive

Use Content Filters to identify the Box files and folders for which you are the owner.
  1. In the search bar, click the Search Options icon.
  2. On the Content Filters tab, in the Owners field, enter your email address, then click Search. Box will display only the files and folders for which you are the owner.
  3. Review the search results.
    • Delete the files and folders you no longer need. 
    • Rename the files or folders that contain special characters (e.g., " * : < > ? / \ |). These characters will be replaced with underscores during the move to OneDrive. File naming in OneDrive
Review files and folders that others have shared with you. End collaborations if appropriate and avoid deleting someone else’s files.
  • Identify the owner & end collaboration: Next to a file or folder, click More Options > More Actions > Manage Collaborators. The Collaborators screen will list the owner and collaborators for that file or folder and will allow you to remove yourself as a collaborator. Alternatively, click More Options > More Actions > End Collaboration.
  • Use extreme caution if you decide to delete Box content. Once deleted, files and folders cannot be restored. This is especially important if you are not the file owner.
Questions? Contact IT User Services at it@umass.edu or 413-545-TECH (8324).
 
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Subscribe to our email list.