Header image, navy blue text saying The Tberg Skim with simple navy blue outline of DC skyline
TSPPPA Doctoral Toast event

Congratulations 2022 Graduates! 

TSPPPA cheers its expanded alumni family. The GW Class of 2022 received a sendoff over four days with the first in-person graduation ceremony at the National Mall in two years. Included among the graduates are our MPA, MPP, and MA degree holders, and the 2022 TSPPPA doctorate holders listed below with titles of their dissertations: 
  • Seth A. Brown, Unpacking the Mechanisms in Teacher Evaluation Systems: Evidence from the Impact Evaluation of Teacher and Leader Performance Evaluation Systems 
  • Kan Z. Gianattasio, A Mixed-Methods Study of the Implications of Medicare Hospice Policy Changes on Patient Utilization and Provider Behaviors 
  • Hernando R. Grueso Hurtado, Essays in Development Economics and Education 
  • Rachel K. Landis, An Examination of Opiod Use Disorder Outcomes among Pregnant Women in Medicaid from 2007-2012: Trends, Disparities and Association with Punitive Child Welfare Policies
  • Sang-Min Park, Positioning Translational Research in the Biomedical Ecosystem: From Basic Research to Biomedical Entrepreneurship 
  • Kimberley M. Siegal, A Good Egg: An Evaluation of a Social Behavior Change Campaign to Increase Egg Consumption among Children in Rwanda
  • Biou Kerina Wang, How do Transnational Private Regulations Emerge? A Causal Process Tracing Study on the Open Contracting Partnership
"500 Most Influential People Shaping Policy" in DC 
More than 40 GW alumni were in this year’s Washingtonian magazine's “500 Most Influential People Shaping Policy” in Washington DC. Four of these are TSPPPA alumni:  Send test
  • Dawn Buth, M.P.A.’10; Director, Government Relations, National Collegiate Athletic Association | Business and Labor section 
  • Howard Kohr, M.P.A. ’80; CEO, American Israel Public Affairs Committee | Foreign Affairs section 
  • Elizabeth Nash, M.P.P. ’05; Principal Policy Associate, State Issues, Guttmacher Institute | Healthcare section 
  • Liz Seaton, M.A. ’90; Policy Director, National LGBTQ Task Force | Civil Rights and Criminal Justice section 
Race and Gender Scholarship 
Trachtenberg professors Kathryn Newcomer, Sanjay K. Pandey, Lang (Kate) Yang, Eiko Strader, Jasmine M. Johnson and recent faculty addition Domonic Bearfield are among the authors in the Race and Gender Symposium issue of Public Administration Review. You can access it for free for a limited period of time.
New Wonkcast and annual Policy Perspectives
On May 6, article authors, faculty advisors, and editors (students Jack Nicholson and Alex Borkholder) launched the newest volume of Policy Perspectives, Trachtenberg’s annual student-produced journal. Access Volume 29 here. You also can check out the Wonkcast's latest episode featuring Wonkcast editor and TSPPPA student William Somes interviewing Garrett Kephart (MPP ’07) and Chris Smith (MPA ’86) in a discussion of the debate related to the proposed regulation by the Securities and Exchange Commission requiring corporations to disclose info on their climate footprint. Kephart and Smith both serve on the Trachtenberg School Advisory Council. Listen here
   You're Invited  

The Shared Services Leadership Coalition (SSLC) and the GW Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration offer Federal Shared Services: Leveraging A Best Practice
Virtual executive education program explaining origination and implementation of shared services model and how it is evolving.  This event is eligible for 8 Continuous Learning Points (CLPs).

June 21(1:00-5:00pm ET) and June 22 (8:00-12:00am ET) 

Course instructors and classroom contributors include:
  • Byron Adkins, Director Interior Business Center
  • Patrice Clement, Senior advisor to the CFO, Dept. of Housing and Urban Development
  • Rita Clinton, Deputy Director, HR Remote Operations Center, YRCI
  • Laurie Cole, Office of Shared Solutions and Performance Improvement (OSSPI), GSA
  • Amy Edwards, Deputy Asst. Secretary, Accounting Policy & Financial Transparency, Dept. of the Treasury
  • Kevin Greer, Vice President, CGI Federal
  • Peter Hogan, Deputy Director, Intl. Cooperative Admin. Support Services (ICASS), State Dept.
  • Tony Hullinger, Deputy Director, Defense Finance and Accounting Center (DFAS)
  • Vince Micone, Executive Director, Enterprise Services, Dept. of Commerce
  • Ken Newton, Director of Service Delivery, NASA Shared Services Center
  • Earl Pinto, Deputy Assoc. Administrator, Office of Shared Solutions and Performance Improvement (OSSPI), GSA
  • Aprajita Rathore, Principal, Enterprise Services Transformation, Deloitte Consulting
  • Dr. Steve Redburn, Professorial Lecturer, Trachtenberg School, George Washington University
  • Tim Rund, Senior Principal, The Clearing
  • Andrea Sampanis, Grants Quality Service Management Office, HHS
  • Jim Sheire, Director, Cyber Security Quality Service Management Office, DHS
  • Dr. Costis Toregas, Director, Cyber Security and Privacy Research Institute, GW University
  • Rob Wuhrman, Office of Shared Solutions and Performance Improvement (OSSPI), GSA
closing banner with TSPPPA logo and location/contact details
Subscribe to our email list.