TDSB Chair's Newsletter
Volume 36 - July 7, 2020
TDSB Names Carlene Jackson as Interim Director of Education
During a Special Board Meeting, Trustees unanimously approved the appointment of Carlene Jackson, who is currently the TDSB’s Associate Director of Business Operations and Service Excellence.
Moving forward, the Board will commence a search process for a permanent Director of Education. Carlene will replace outgoing Director of Education John Malloy, who is retiring, until a permanent Director is installed.
For more information, please read the news release
TDSB Creates New Centre of Excellence for Black Student Achievement
Trustees with the Toronto District School Board have unanimously approved funding to create a new TDSB Centre of Excellence for Black Student Achievement. It is the first of its kind in public education in Canada. It is one of TDSB’s responses to dismantle anti-Black racism within the school board and improve both experiences and outcomes for Black students. The creation of the Centre is also responsive to the voices of the Black communities who consistently advocated for deeper systemic change from the TDSB.
For more information, please read the news release
Ministry Guidelines on Returning to School in September
Recently, the Premier and Minister of Education announced the Government of Ontario’s guidelines for the return to school in September. School boards across Ontario are being asked to prepare for three possible scenarios that will depend on the public health situation at the time.
The Toronto District School Board will further refine it's plans in the weeks ahead and work with the Ministry of Education and public health officials to finalize them in August.
To learn more, please visit
End of School Year Letter
Chair of the Board Robin Pilkey and Director of Education John Malloy issued a letter to all parents/guardians at the Toronto District School Board with regard to the last day of school and what’s next to come over the summer months and into the fall.
The letter is now available online. 
Letters from the Chair of the Board
On behalf of the Toronto District School Board, Chair of the Board Robin Pilkey has issued the following letters to government officials to raise a number of concerns:
Introducing the New TDSB Student Trustees (2020-21)
Firdaus Shallo from C.W. Jefferys Collegiate Institute and Mays Abusaifan from L'Amoreaux Collegiate Institute were recently elected as the new Student Trustees for the 2020-21 school year. Clarity Smoke from Monarch Park C.I., who is the first-ever Indigenous Student Trustee for the Toronto District School Board, has been extended for a second term by the Toronto Indigenous Youth Council.
For more information, please read the web story
TDSB Ratifies Local Agreement with Education Workers

The Toronto District School Board has voted to ratify a local agreement with the Board’s 17,700 education workers who are represented by the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) Local 4400. This local agreement has also been ratified by CUPE Local 4400.
For more information, please read the news release.
The following items were approved or received by the Board of Trustees at the Regular Board Meeting on June 17, 2020:
  • 2020-21 Budget Timelines Update and Transition Supports for School Re-opening
  • TDSB Budget:  Virtual Town Halls
  • Student Attendance and Safe Arrival Policy Review 
  • French-as-a-Second Language Recommendations:  Interim Report
For more information, including a full list of Board Decisions, please read the Summary of Decisions.
Upcoming Meetings
Due to the closure of all schools and administration sites at the Toronto District School Board, all standing committee and board meetings will be held virtually and broadcasted live to the public. For a list of upcoming meetings, please click on the calendar on the main webpage of

TDSB Trustees

Harpreet Gill
Ward 1 - Etobicoke North

Dan MacLean
Ward 2 - Etobicoke Centre

Patrick Nunziata
Ward 3 - Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Christopher Mammoliti
Ward 4 - Humber River-Black Creek

Alexandra Lulka

Ward 5 - York Centre

Chris Tonks
Ward 6 - York South-Weston

Robin Pilkey
Ward 7 - Parkdale-High Park

Shelley Laskin
Ward 8 - Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's

Stephanie Donaldson
Ward 9 - Davenport and Spadina-Fort York

Chris Moise
Ward 10 - University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre

Rachel Chernos Lin
Ward 11 - Don Valley West

Alexander Brown
Ward 12 - Willowdale

James Li
Ward 13 - Don Valley North

Trixie Doyle
Ward 14 - Don Valley East

Jennifer Story
Ward 15 - Toronto-Danforth

Michelle Aarts
Ward 16 - Beaches-East York

David Smith
Ward 17 - Scarborough Centre

Parthi Kandavel
Ward 18 - Scarborough Southwest

Zakir Patel
Ward 19 - Scarborough-Guildwood

Manna Wong
Ward 20 - Scarborough-Agincourt

Yalini Rajakulasingam
Ward 21 - Scarborough North

Anu Sriskandarajah
Ward 22 - Scarborough-Rouge Park

Adnan Habib
Student Trustee

Ivy Deng

Student Trustee

Clarity Smoke
Indigenous Student Trustee

Subscribe to our email list.