Dear Friends,
On behalf of the Board of Trustees, we are pleased to announce that Father Bill Verbryke, S.J. has been selected to serve as Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School’s 12th President. Father Bill’s unanimous election by the Board followed a rigorous, four-month search.  He emerged as the overwhelming choice to lead Brebeuf Jesuit based on his impressive accomplishments as a Jesuit and his engaging and inspirational leadership style.  Father Bill will succeed Father Jack Dennis, S.J. effective July 1, 2018.  
Father Bill joined the Jesuit Candidates program while attending the University of Cincinnati and entered the Society of Jesus in 1973. He was ordained to the Jesuit Priesthood in 1983. This journey included serving as a faculty member at Loyola Academy in Wilmette, Illinois; obtaining his Masters in Divinity and Theology at Berkeley; serving as the Director of Vocations for the Midwest Province (former Chicago Province) of the Society of Jesus and returning to his alma mater, St. Xavier High School in Cincinnati, where he served as president for 10 years. Following his service to St. Xavier, he then served as Director of Novices in Detroit for eight years before returning Cincinnati to serve as the Rector of the Jesuit Community.
Father Bill has had a long-standing relationship with Brebeuf Jesuit.  He served a term as a member of the Board of Trustees from 1995-2001 and was appointed to fulfill another term in 2012.  In October 2016, he relocated to Indianapolis to serve as the Superior of the Jesuit Community, Brebeuf Jesuit’s Vice President of Mission and Identity and a member of the school’s leadership team. 
Father Bill Verbryke, S.J.
“I am excited to serve Brebeuf Jesuit as its next President.  I am humbled by the appointment and honored to help continue the life-changing educational experiences being delivered at Brebeuf.  Being able to work with the talented faculty and staff and to be instrumental in the transformation of our students is a calling for me.  The mission of Brebeuf Jesuit is to help our students grow and develop in their faith – and I am eager to engage with all members of our community to continue this work.” 
We would also like to express our appreciation to the members of the Presidential Search Committee for their time and excellent work.  The committee members included:
Robert Manuel, Committee Chair
Sharon Barner

J. Murray Clark '75

J. Mark Howell

Anita Joshi

Dan Lechleiter '98

Andy Mohr

Theodore Munz, S.J.

Peggy Poole '87
As you are aware, Father Jack will leave Brebeuf Jesuit at the conclusion of this academic year. We are pleased to have him throughout the second semester to lead Father Bill’s transition, and we look forward to celebrating him and sending him off to Maryland with much thanks and appreciation for his accomplishments and impact on our community over the last six years. 
We are extremely excited to welcome Father Bill to his new responsibilities at Brebeuf Jesuit.  At your next opportunity, please join us in congratulating him on this distinguished appointment. 
W. Patrick Bruen '79
Chair, Board of Trustees   
Robert Manuel
Chair, Presidential Search Committee

Twitter Facebook Instagram
powered by emma
Subscribe to our email list.